From Site to Program

During the fourth year I chose to explore new horizons, new spaces. I did one erasmus year in Lisboa, Portugal, in the Faculdade de Arquitectura.
This is a project that I did in the Arquitectura de Interiores (interior architecture) section. But the project was more about restauration than interior architecture. We had a site in a very old but very alive at night neighborhood in Lisbon, that we had to invest. It was a very old and very big building that we were supposed to turn into a “Health Center”.

When I first went to the site and read the plans of the existing building, I began to be very interested in the building’s structure. First it was three buildings and they were put together and the structure was reinforced.
It was such a labyrinth of levels that I imagined, why not breaking everything and create a new passageway? The building is situated between two narrow streets (characteristic of the old urban planning of Lisbon) and therefore, I was interested into connecting those streets through the building.  Inside this open and semi-public space, I would then graduate the degree of intimacy depending on the program through units.

Regarding to the program that was about Health and Realxing (spas etc…) I imagined it being seprated into “units” that would be sort of cocoons where the client would feel at ease. I thought about those spaces and those moments that would be suspended in this public space that would be a garden.

References and very primary 3D modeling of the idea of the project

program repartition

and from this site & program comes the interior project

Leave a comment